1. Home
  2. About us
  3. The Trust Board

The Trust Board

The Trust Board meets three times a year to consider applications for funding and once a year to review the Trust’s strategy for the future

Trust Board members are primarily recruited from the highest levels of Unilever, the descendent of Lever Brothers. This has ensured that the culture of decision-making at the Trust remains free from disciplinary interest, able to draw upon the wide experience brought by its trustees, and fully alert to the role of education and research in modern life.

In making decisions about funding, the Trust Board seeks the advice of a range of peer reviewers and expert panels or committees who offer an assessment of the academic merit and significance of applications.

Members of the Trust Board

  • Mr N W A FitzGerald KBE DSA (Chairman)
  • Mr D Baillie 
  • Professor K Gull CBE FRS
  • Mr A Jope
  • Sir Dave Lewis
  • Mr R H P Markham
  • Ms M McEwan  
  • Ms L Nair
  • Mr C Saul
  • Mr K Weed CBE 
  • Mr S G Williams

Keep in touch
Sign up for our funding bulletin to receive:
  • details of scheme opening dates and deadlines
  • advance notice of changes to award criteria
  • listings of grants made
  • a PDF of our newsletter, containing short articles describing recently funded research.
Our e-bulletin is aimed at research support staff, current grant holders and those considering making an application.
The Leverhulme Trust
1 Pemberton Row
General enquiries
020 7042 9888