Types of awards

Find out about the research funding schemes, fellowships, scholarships, prizes and arts funding offered by the Leverhulme Trust.

Research projects

Research Project Grants are available for any research topic, with the choice of theme and research approach left entirely to applicants. Up to £500,000 over five years is available. Grants cover salaries for research staff engaged on the project and associated costs directly related to the proposed research. There is a two-stage application process. Outline proposals can be submitted at any time; applicants who are successful at this stage will be invited to submit a detailed proposal.

Research Leadership Awards support researchers with an established university career who wish to build a research team to address a distinct research problem. Between £800,000 and £1million over a period of up to five years is available. The award covers salary costs for research assistants and research students working under the leadership of the award holder, and associated costs directly related to the proposed research. The Research Leadership Award scheme normally runs every three years.

Fellowships and Studentships

Early Career Fellowships provide a bridge into an academic career for researchers with a proven research record, but who have not yet held an established academic post. Fellowships can be in any subject, and fellows should expect to complete a single piece of original, publishable research during their tenure.  The scheme provides fifty per cent (up to £25,000 a year) of the salary costs of a three-year academic appointment, with the host institution providing the remaining funds.

Research Fellowships of up to £55,000 over a period of three to twenty-four months are awarded to experienced researchers, particularly those whose day-to-day responsibilities have prevented them from completing a programme of research. There are no restrictions on discipline, and applications are welcomed from established independent scholars as well as those holding posts in higher education institutions.

Major Research Fellowships support well-established academics in the humanities and social sciences to focus for two or three years on a specific piece of significant, original research.  The scheme is particularly aimed at researchers whose day-to-day duties have prevented them from completing a programme of research.

Emeritus Fellowships provide funding over up to two years for senior researchers who have retired from an academic post to complete a research project, and prepare the results for publication. The awards offer research expenses of up to £22,000, but do not provide maintenance for the applicant.

Visiting Professorships are awarded to UK institutions that wish to invite an eminent researcher from overseas to enhance the knowledge and skills of academic staff or the student body within the host institution. The scheme covers maintenance, travel expenses and research costs. Visiting Professorships last for between three and twelve months.

Study Abroad Studentships support an extended period of advanced study or research at a centre of learning in any overseas country, with the exception of the USA. Applicants need to have been resident in the UK for at least five years, and should be either currently a student, or have been registered as a student in the last eight years. The scheme offers basic maintenance costs, a dependant allowance, and travel costs. Studentships are awarded for between twelve and twenty-four months.

International Academic Fellowships enable established researchers to spend a period of time in overseas research centres, to develop new knowledge, skills and ideas. Up to £45,000 is available for a period of three to twelve months.

Philip Leverhulme Prizes

Each year, the Trust awards thirty Philip Leverhulme Prizes to recognise researchers at an early stage of their career, whose work has already had a significant international impact, and whose future research career is exceptionally promising. Prize winners receive an award of £100,000 over two or three years, which may be used for any research purpose. To be eligible, nominees must hold an academic post in the UK, and must be within 10 years of the award of their doctorate on the closing date for nominations. Nominations are accepted for work across 18 broad disciplines, with prizes in six of these disciplines offered each year.

Arts funding

Arts Scholarships are open to specialist arts training organisations to develop innovative teaching and to provide bursaries for individuals of exceptional talent to develop their skills in the fine and performing arts.