Nominees must hold either a permanent post or a long-term fellowship in a UK institution of higher education or research that would extend beyond the duration of the Philip Leverhulme Prize. Those otherwise without salary are not eligible to be nominated. Nominees should normally have been awarded their doctoral degree not more than ten years prior to the closing date of 17 May 2017. The award date is considered to be the date on which the degree was confirmed by the awarding institution.

Prizes are awarded to individuals. The Trust Board will not consider making an award where two (or more) nominations are received for substantially the same body of work.

Guidance and nominations

Read more about the nomination process

funding login image jpg
Application login

To make a nomination, log in to our online application system

emeritus listings image jpg

Prizes in previous years

Who was awarded a Prize last year? Download 2016 Prize listings

Our approach to grant making illustration 4 jpg

Awards in Focus

For detailed profiles of previous Prize-winners read our Awards in Focus