Philip Leverhulme Prizes

Nominations and applications for the Philip Leverhulme Prize are now closed. They will re-open in January 2019.

Philip Leverhulme Prizes recognise the achievement of outstanding researchers whose work has already attracted international recognition and whose future career is exceptionally promising. Every year the prize scheme makes up to thirty awards of £100,000, across a range of academic disciplines. The 2018 round opened on 3 January 2018 and closed to nominations on 17 May 2018.

Philip Leverhulme Prizes have been offered since 2001 in commemoration of the contribution to the work of the Trust made by Philip Leverhulme, the Third Viscount Leverhulme and grandson of William Hesketh Lever, the founder of the Trust.

Subject areas

For the 2018 competition the selected subject areas are:

  • Classics
  • Earth Sciences
  • Physics
  • Politics and International Relations
  • Psychology
  • Visual and Performing Arts

The disciplines selected are intentionally broad, and nominations will be considered irrespective of a nominee’s departmental affiliation.

Subject areas for 2017, 2018 and 2019.


Each Prize has a value of £100,000 which may be used over a two or three year period. Prizes can be used for any purpose which can advance the prize-holder’s research, with the exception of enhancing the prize-holder’s salary.

Please ensure that nominations do not include any ineligible costs.


The Prize is available over two or three years. The first instalment of the Prize funds must be released no later than the end of November 2019.

Eligibility and application information

Please read the following before submitting a nomination. Please note that no institution may submit more than three nominations in any prize subject.


If your query has not been answered in these pages please contact Bridget Kerr on 020 7042 9862 or email

funding login image jpg
Application login

To make a nomination, log in to our online application system

emeritus listings image jpg

Previous Prize Winners

Who was awarded a Prize last year? Download 2017 Prize listings

Our approach to grant making illustration 4 jpg

Awards in Focus

For detailed profiles of previous Prize Winners read our Awards in Focus